Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence 2017

Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence 2017

16-Nov-2017 Source: Association of Air Ambulances

The nation’s finest clinicians, aviators and fundraisers are celebrated at the Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence

Almost 300 guests celebrated the best and brightest from the air ambulance community last night at the national Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence 2017.

Awards hosts, BBC News reporter and presenter Sophie Long and Helicopter Heroes presenter Rav Wilding handed out 12 Awards to outstanding individuals and teams, whose stories were inspirational, astounding and humbling. The awards, which are independently judged, went to pilots, paramedics, doctors, fundraisers and volunteers who collected their trophies at a ceremony held at The Chelsea Harbour Hotel last night.

An enthusiastic audience listened to the remarkable stories of each shortlisted nominee, all of whom demonstrated excellence and commitment well above and beyond the call of duty.

Chair of the Judging Panel, Jim Fitzpatrick MP, said:  “Every year at these Awards, we hear about ordinary people doing simply extraordinary things and this year was no exception. Whether it’s pensioners raising hundreds of thousands of pounds, clinicians performing major surgery out in the field or pilots showing nerves of steel to land in difficult conditions, it’s clear that those working in the air ambulance sector are among the most courageous, talented and determined people around. I’d like to offer my most sincere congratulations to all the nominees but especially the winners.”

Below is a list of all the winners:

Air Ambulance Campaign Award

WINNER:  Midlands Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Lottery Fundraising Services

Charity Staff Member of the Year

WINNER:  Frank Chege, London’s Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Bayards

Charity Volunteer of the Year

WINNER:  Jill & Don McLaren, Lincs & Notts Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Tower Lotteries

Air Ambulance Doctor of the Year

WINNER:  Dr Syed Masud, Thames Valley Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Leonardo Helicopters

Innovation of the Year Award

WINNER:  Essex & Herts Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Sloane Helicopters

Lifetime Achievement Award

WINNER:  Christine Margetts

Sponsor: Specialist Aviation Services

Air Ambulance Paramedic of the Year

WINNER:  Adam Carr, Essex & Herts Air Ambulance

Sponsor: BMW Government and Authorities Division

Air Ambulance Pilot of the Year

WINNER:  Neil Airey, North West Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Safran UK

Special Incident Award

WINNER: Wales Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Airbus Helicopters

Air Operations Support Staff Member of the Year

WINNER: John Power, London’s Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Allianz

Outstanding Young Person Award

WINNER:  Josh Bright, Magpas

Sponsor: Babcock MCS Onshore

AAA Chairman’s Award

WINNER: Caroline Creer

no sponsor

, , , ,

Copyright © 2024 HeliHub

Website by Design Inc

Helihub logo