AAMS announces new Board members

AAMS announces new Board members

25-Jul-2017 Source: AAMS

As the Chair of the AAMS Nominations Committee, I’m pleased to announce that the election for the 2017 – 2019 term on the AAMS board has come to a close.  I would like to welcome and congratulate the following new and re-elected AAMS Board Members!
Regions 1, 2, 6, 7, and 8 were up for re-election as well as two At-Large Director Seats and the Associate Director.  I would also like to thank those current board members who are completing their terms.  It has been a privilege to work with you and I know you’ll remain involved in our industry’s issues.
Scott Kirby, CCEMT-P, CMTE, was reelected as AAMS Region 1 Director. Scott is the CEO at LifeMed Alaska in Anchorage, Alaska. Scott started his career as a flight paramedic in Denver, Colorado where he eventually served as the Director of Operations for AeroMed International. Scott serves as the Vice Chair for the Fixed Wing SIG Committee. The board looks forward to Scott’s continued dedication to the board and safety in the medical transport industry.
Shannon Sovndal, MD, FACEP, has been reelected as the AAMS Region 2 Director. Shannon is the Medical Director for North Colorado Med Evac, AMR Air and Boulder County Fire and EMS Agencies in Colorado.  Shannon is the Vice Chair for the Education & Standards Committee. The passion that Shannon has for his community, EMS, fire, air, and ground are great qualities the board looks to for its success.
Susan Smith, RN, BSN, EMT-B, CMTE, CFRN, is reelected as the Region 6 Director for the AAMS Board. Susan is the Program Director at Carilion Clinic Life-Guard in Roanoke, Virginia. She has over 20 years’ experience in the industry. Susan serves as the crossover member for AAMS and the MedEvac Foundation International boards. Her background, along with her leadership skills, will be a great asset to the AAMS Board and its continued growth.
Russell MacDonald, MD, MPH, FCFP, FRCPC, has been elected as the AAMS Region 7 Director. Russell is the Medical Director, Quality and Research at Ornge Transport Medicine in Mississauga, Ontario, Canada. He comes to the board with more than 20 years of experience in government, administrative, and academic. Russell serves on numerous AAMS Committees. The board looks forward to having him back on the board and his international perspective on the industry.
Graeme Field has been reelected to fill the Region 8 Director position on the AAMS Board. Graeme is the Chief Superintendent at Aeromedical and Medical Retrieval, NSW Air Ambulance Service in New South Wales, Australia. Graeme, a long standing paramedic, and is a member of the Aeromedical Society of Australasia. Graeme is the current Vice President on the AAMS Board, and serves on a number of committees. The board is pleased to have the international knowledge and expertise that Graeme has on the industry.
Frankie Hurst, RN, BSN, CFRN, CMTE, has been reelected to one of the AAMS At-Large Director Positions. Frankie, a returning board member, is the Program Manager at AirMed, University of Utah, in Salt Lake City. Frankie has been involved in the air medical industry for the past 14 years. The board is excited to have Frankie as one of the At-Large Directors. With her dedication and passion for the industry these are qualities the board respects.
Seth Myers, RN, BA, MBA, CMTE, has been elected to one of the AAMS At-Large Director Positions. Seth is the President of Air Evac EMS, Inc. in O’Fallon, Missouri. With 36 years’ experience, Seth is excited to contribute his knowledge and experience to the board. He served on the AAMS Board of Directors 14 years ago, and is excited to be a part of the AAMS board again.
David Richardson, MBA, is the newly elected Associate Director for the AAMS Board. Dave, a first time AAMS Board member, is the Senior Vice President of the Air Medical Service Division at Air Methods, in Englewood, Colorado. He brings with him to the board over 18 years’ experience in health care management. His active leadership in the industry will add to the AAMS Board.
My sincerest appreciation is extended to all candidates that stepped forward to run and for their continued interest and investment in AAMS and the critical care transport industry.
Martin Arkus
AAMS Past President
Chair of the AAMS Nominations Committee

, , ,

Copyright © 2024 HeliHub

Website by Design Inc

Helihub logo